Emmett Till

Mississippi Trial 1955
Chris Crowe

Civil Rights Post 1955
Jim Crow

The Emancipation Proclamation 
By Deja

Lincoln: Signing the Emancipation ProclamationThe Emancipation Proclamation was issued on January 1, 1863, nationwide. It was a red ink bound document known all over the U.S.A. The Emancipation Proclamation was not written only once. It was written many other times before Abraham Lincoln and his fellow policy writers ever got it right. In the upper-right hand corner, the number of the proclamation is addressed as, 95. The Emancipation Proclamation covered ten states such as (South Carolina, Mississippi, Florida, Alabama, Georgia, Louisiana, Texas, Virginia, Arkansas, and North Carolina.) It only declared freedom over those who were not under Union control. It did not free all slaves. The Emancipation Proclamation granted black soldiers the right to fight for the Union. When the Southerners found out about the pEmancipation Proclamationroclamation, they knew that they were going to do their best to corrupt the system. They separated themselves from the North. They made their own America that they named the Confederate States of America. They then elected Jefferson Davis as the Southerners' very own President.  




"Page one." The Emancipation Proclamation . Web. 11-29-11. http://www.archives.gov/exhibits/featured_documents/emancipation_proclamation/.

Abraham Lincoln at the signing of the emancipation proclamation." How the Emancipation Proclamation


This page was last updated on: