Home Lessons Tutorials Links Books About Us Site Map

Books for Upper Elementary and Middle School students featuring special needs topics. Return to the Special Students main page

The Gun Lake Adventure Series:

This Five books series features Johnnie Jacobson who has cerebral palsy and has to use a wheel chair as its main character. All of the books introduce new information about how Johnnie feels about his special needs and how he is treated by others. The books do not have to be read in order to be enjoyed.

The Barn at Gun Lake (Tuitel, Johnnie, Gun Lake Gang Adventure Series, Bk. 1.) Ages 9-12

A review from Amazon.com

"An excellent book!, July 26, 1999
Reviewer: Megan Kline (MaccaJ65@aol.com) from Dacula, Georgia
I am 17 and have cerebral palsy. I've known Johnnie Tuitel for many years, so I was pleased to see his books. I was even more pleased to see how his sense of humor and adventure shines through in his writing. It's very refreshing to find someone who can express the frustrations and triumphs everyone with CP (or any disability, for that matter) runs into, and Johnnie and Sharon do it in such a way that Johnnie Jacobson (the main character) still seems like just one of the gang at Gun Lake. I recommend this book to anyone who likes mystery and adventure, able-bodied and disabled alike. :)"

Mystery Explosion (Tuitel, Johnnie, Gun Lake Gang Adventure Series, Bk. 2.) Ages 9-12

Mystery Explosion the second in the series of five books continues Johnnie's adventures with his friends. Johnie who has cerebral palsy and has to use a wheel chair to move becomes the key figure in trying to find out who set of the explosion that destroyed his friends drag racer. Young readers will love this fast moving tale of suspense.

coverDiscovery on Blackbird Island (Third Book in the five book series) by Johnnie Tuitel
Ages 9-12

Blackbird Island is a small, quiet, uninhabited island in Gun Lake and isn't all what it appears to be. In Discovery On Blackbird Island, discovery of abandoned dogs and cats starts Johnnie Jacobson and his friends on yet another Gun Lake adventure filled with schemes, action, and mysteries to solve. A fun and easy to read book for young readers, Discovery on Blackbird Island is the third volume in "The Gun Lake Adventure Series."

Searching the Noonday Trail (Fourth Book in the five book series) by Johnnie Tuitel
Ages 9-12

In Searching The Noonday Trail, it's the first day at a new school for Johnnie Jacobson. It's going to be challenging, but will it be as adventuresome as the summer was? He's not too sure, but a secret football play and a field trip to where Chief Noonday and the Ottawa tribe used to live put Johnnie and his Gun Lake Friends on the trail of another great and exciting adventure! The fourth in Cedar Tree Publications' outstanding "Gun Lake Adventure" series, Searching Noonday Trail is another great novel by Johnnie Tuitel and Sharon Lamson for young readers which is wonderfully written and totally entertaining from first page to last. The three other enthusiastically recommended titles in their outstanding and original series are The Barn At Gun Lake (1998); Mystery Explosion! (1999); and Discovery On Blackbird Island (2000).

Adventure in the Bear Tooth Mountains: The Gun Lake Adventure Series Book 5

I haven't had a chance to read this one.

Petey by Ben Mikaelsen
Grades 6 and up.

This is one of my favorite books that we read as part of the ASK program. This moving story is 90% true. The story chronicles the life of Petey who was born with cerebral palsy. Petey was placed in a mental institution as an infant. The story tells of Petey's struggle to communicate with others. You and your students will be touched by the friendships he makes and the struggles he encounters.

Return to the books Special Students main page
  Web www.classroomhelp.com   

For information or corrections to the site contact:
This page was last modified on Sunday, August 29, 2004